IAMAT |International Association of Medical Assistance to Travellers| IAMAT |International Association of Medical Assistance to Travellers|

Reviews

Photo By: Harold Crosskno

Members recommend IAMAT

We're very appreciative of IAMAT's resources when we travel abroad -- a real service that I don't believe otherwise is conveniently available. Keep up the good work!


Thomas B. (Santa Fe, NM, USA) December 2, 2016

As we are now in our mid-eighties, we are not quite the adventurous travelers we once were and have been spending most of our travel dollars on big ship cruises. (These would have seemed incredibly tame not so far in the past). We have been fortunate however to have seen many places in the world while travelling independently, including portions of all continents except Antarctica, and numerous islands hither and yon. Favorites were the Seychelles, Indonesia and New Guinea. All travel is enjoyable however. In any case IAMAT has accompanied us for many years and, although we have seldom had to see a doctor in foreign lands, it has helped to give us confidence while pursuing our adventures. We will continue to be supportive as long as we are able and will always carry the booklet with us wherever the ships take us.


Margaret E. (Vancouver, BC, Canada) November 29, 2016

Your booklet is excellent and now I feel more confident travelling knowing where to go. I used your organization for my daughter many years ago when she got sick in Acapulco and they were so attentive and helpful as she was young and didn't know where to go and had to board a plane with an ear infection to get home. I read your article in enRoute while traveling on Air Canada to my vacation site and found it interesting how your organization was founded so I applied for a booklet. I have never regretted it since.


Joanne C. (London, ON, Canada) July 6, 2016

I just needed to get a refill on a prescription but the doctor went out of his way to explain the process and had the drug delivered to my hotel at the time stated. He was very helpful and made sure that I was taking the drug correctly. Although it wasn't serious and I could have skipped the drug to no ill effects, having the service available and the doctor who spoke English was extremely convenient and reassuring. Thanks for the service and help.


John S. (Barrington, IL, USA) June 20, 2016

It is a wonderful service you provide to travelers. Thanks for making the world a bit easier to navigate.


John T. May 25, 2016

I have supported IAMAT, your outstanding organization, for many years. I have traveled internationally since 1974 and leads tours for our local Historical Society since 2000. I never needed to contact any of the doctors in your program, but always felt comfortable knowing I carried the listing with me knowing I could secure medical care if necessary with English-speaking doctors.


Norma S. (York, PA, USA) May 8, 2016

It is a very good service which we have had occasion to use in the past, once in Indonesia comes to mind [with a case of] strep throat. The doctor talked to us for about an hour, charged us the equivalent of $5.00 and prescribed a medication which worked very well and very quickly. It ended up being a unique and positive ‘travel’ experience. Thank you for what you do.


Margaret E. April 26, 2016

I write to compliment you for your excellent administrative procedures and practices. Your promptness and thoughtfulness in sending me a tax receipt for my most recent contribution is just one of many examples that have impressed me. I have been a Member of IAMAT for a very long time; your organization is one of the most effective of any that I know. I do not travel to the degree that I once did, but in that previous life it was a great comfort to know that I could count on the support of IAMAT. My family members always felt, and still feel, the same way.


Richard F. (West Hartford, CT, USA) January 11, 2016

Whenever I go on a trip, the first thing I pack is the IAMAT booklet. In 55 years of travel, I never had to use it......until last week. My wife and I were at the end of a river cruise from Bucharest to Vienna. Last week, she became ill with fever, chills and a massive migraine headache. Thank goodness it was in Vienna. I immediately took out the book and found Dr. Jose Ozcariz. We went to his office. He was able to diagnose [an infection]. Off we went to his suggested hospital. IAMAT came through. I have been in the travel business a long time and always recommend IAMAT to my clients. So keep up the good work. Thanks again for your wonderful services.


Elliot M. (Chestnut Ridge, NY, USA) October 13, 2015

Many thanks indeed for your assistance. Malaria is a well known issue and people do not take it so seriously unfortunately. Appreciate your assistance regarding medicine and will plan to take this medication as per your advice. It's nice to know that somebody is taking care of travellers.


Captain Perica B. (Lomé, Togo, West Africa) January 7, 2015

In 2012, I traveled to Greece with my family for my 80th birthday. On the first night of our arrival I feel on an unseen step. I broke my hip! My son found your papers among my important papers in my carry-on. He called the Athens contact number and was gratified by the person not only having an English-speaking orthopedist in mind, but suggested he call them himself to see who was immediately available. We ultimately were recommended to someone who had been trained in the USA. Thank you IAMAT.


J. G. (Sacramento, CA, USA) December 3, 2014

I was glad to be a member when I needed advice and medication for a minor, common traveller's complaint. Dr. Barrow in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia was very kind and reassuring and provided me with medication on the spot. Also a big thank-you for the kind nurse at reception for her friendly and efficient manner. I have already recommended IAMAT to my travelling friends. You really deserve to be supported widely!


Marianne G. (Melbourne, Australia) October 10, 2014

I dialled the number for Dr. Mary McCarthy and she answered the phone. I have never been so relieved in my life. I explained to her the myriad of problems surrounding Kay's treatment and the serious and rapid deterioration of her condition. She seemed to understand the problems immediately. She asked for my phone number and said she would call back in a few minutes. When she called back, she had a plan for Kay. She also identified two new doctors at the hospital that she said had the skills and the training to help Kay, and they both spoke English. She had even called the new doctors herself. There is no doubt in my mind that Dr. Mary McCarthy's help over the next few days saved Kay's life.


Mike T. (Brevard, NC, USA) August 15, 2014

My wife had acute poison ivy with blisters and had an appointment with Dr. Corson the same day. The care went smoothly and he offered to consult by phone as we traveled.


C.S. (Melbourne, KY, USA) August 4, 2014

I have been telling people all over the world that we meet traveling about your wonderful website and services. Keep up the super work.


Harlan S. (Henderson, NV, USA) July 29, 2014

It is always a welcome message that comes yearly from IAMAT. I recall the wonderful time in Rome when Dr. Marcolongo saved my sister's life. She lived 29 years and 10 months after open heart surgery when it was performed when we came home to the US. Thank you for carrying on his work.


Esther E. (St. Louis, MO, USA) July 23, 2014

... Our own travels were unexotic until retirement last year found us headed for the South Pacific once again, and looking for travel shots in the days between Christmas and New Year's. IAMAT-listed Riverside Travel Medicine Clinic was one of the few in Ottawa offering service that week.

Dr. Teitelbaum not only addressed required / optional shots, but took time to discuss milder potential problems, and we gained considerable peace of mind through going prepared with remedies like gravol and extract of wild strawberry.

H. R. Y. (Ottawa, ON, Canada) July 4, 2014

Dr. Asturias [IAMAT doctor in Guatemala] made a house call, at night, checked with the previous doctor and decided the powerful drugs I was taking were making me sicker. He took me off the strong drugs and prescribed milder, soothing medications and I began to feel better by the next day. I was still very shaky on the trip home, and it took a couple of weeks to recover, to my astonishment. His decision to take me off the first course of medicines and give me others to counteract the first ones was obviously the right move.


Joline B. (Mount Vernon, WA, USA) May 29, 2014


Last reviewed and updated: January 18, 2017

Travel Health Journal

ALL BLOG POSTS